How to Permanently Delete Email Addresses from Your Forwarding Settings; When you receive an email from someone with whom you want to communicate, you may want to forward the email to other individuals in your address book.
If you do so, you’ll want to delete the original email address before forwarding it. Otherwise, those recipients will have access to the complete email history between you and the sender of the first email. This guide on how to permanently delete email addresses from your forwarding settings will help ensure your privacy.
READ ALSO How to delete your blogger account
How Does This Work?
You can delete an email address by tapping on it and clicking the cross in the upper-right corner. That account will be removed, but it’ll still appear as a previous destination in your forwarding settings.
If you want to remove an account’s history from being viewed, you can also do so by selecting that previous destination. When you do this, the email address is deleted for good.
For an added layer of security, once you’ve completed these steps, select Send and ensure that Gmail is asking for a password. That way only someone with your Gmail password will be able to read messages sent through Gmail.
Even if your account is compromised by another person or agency, you’ll still have full control over your email address, as well as the information you send out.
You may not need to go through all of these steps every time you sign into Gmail – it all depends on what type of backup system your organization has in place. We recommend deleting any old emails before getting started, just to make sure there aren’t any duplicates left lingering around!
The easiest way to ensure that you’re never double-sharing your contacts’ emails is by deleting them. Here’s how:
1) Open your Gmail account and go to Settings on the top right corner of the screen.
2) Under Labs, check the box for Delete (rather than forward) email I reply to.
3) Click the Save Changes button. This will delete a copy of the forwarded email from your account rather than sending it again.
4) Repeat these steps for each address you’d like to delete. To do so, go back and check your other email accounts.
5) Click on Settings, then go to Labs. Under Delete (rather than forward) email I reply to, click Save Changes. Continue repeating these steps until you’ve removed all of your duplicated emails. After doing so, you can delete an account if you’d like in order to completely cut it off from your system.
When you set up your email forwarding settings, make sure you check permanently delete messages from my address. This way, you won’t accidentally share an email that you meant for just a few people. For example, if you’re giving out the family’s new address or have a message about meeting time and place for the book club, you can safely forward this email without having it show up in someone else’s inbox. You also don’t have to worry about any spammy emails coming into your inbox because these will be deleted before they ever reach it.